Bob and Karen Fletcher’s Kurtis Kraft 4000 is also Offenhauser powered but with a much larger version at 270 cid. The “Champ” cars were known for the national championship series, and they followed racing on the biggest of stages at state fair mile-long tracks and eventually at the Indianapolis 500.

Originally built for Johnny McDanial and known as the Blakely Oil Special, the car spent most of its later years flying different colors as the “Midwest Manufacturing Racer” after its purchase by Carl Gehlhausin for the 1965 season.

This is the longest-running KK 4000 in AAA-USAC Champ Car history, September 1952 to August 1975, and was driven by Bobby Ball, Jimmy Bryan, Bill Peterbaugh, Tony Bettenhausen, Tom Bigelow and others. It is restored as it was when it won the San Jose mile race Nov. 2, 1952.